top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRickey Lawson

Backwater Flooding in the Mississippi Delta (#finishthepumps)

Updated: Jun 20, 2019

On June 6, 2019, I set out to capture the devastating affects of the backwater flooding in the Mississippi Delta. While traveling south on highway 61 headed towards Vicksburg, MS, I was stunned to see how much water still remain. As I continued my journey, I noticed several homes and a church that had been abandoned due to flooding. The local residents in the area were not shy about posting signs out by the road that read, #finishthepumps. Could you blame them? Some of the locals affected by the flood parked their vehicles right off of the main highway, as most of the roads leading to their homes were completely flooded. As they parked their vehicles, they had boats waiting in order to maneuver their way to their homes. This was a sobering site to see.


213 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page